BMW Motorcycle Club Canberra

Check and update your book mark is/to

 Official BMW Club                                                                                                                                                        Member Club                                                                  

  • Home
  • BMWMCCACT Club Person of the Year & Upside Down Award

Club Person of the Year

2020David Morgan
2019 Bruce Barter
 Bob Ward
2017 John Howell
 David Morgan
2015 John Kemp / Kevin Fowler
 Jane Smee
 Bill Brown
2012 Neville (Taffy) Williams

The Committee determines the BMWMCC Person of the Year Award trophy using a combination of points awarded by participating in Club events and a Member's contribution to the Club's organisation or activities.  What's On points will be awarded to Members who register and attend designated club events.  These are marked on the Event calendar after the title as a 'Club Event'.

  1. The CPoY is only open to financial members of the BMWMCCACT during the period 1 March to the 1st Monday in November and before the Club's Awards and Christmas lunch.
  2. The CPoY award will be presented to the Member with the most points at the Club's Award and Christmas Function.
  3. New Members who join after 1 March will be credited the lowest number of total points amongst active members plus the points of after their first attendance to a Club Event.
  4. The Committee Members are eligible for CPoY.

You will be awarded points on your validated attendance at 'Club Events' for:

  • Club Monthly Meeting or Breakfast Ride (part day), 2 points
  • Day Ride (separate to or following a Club Meeting), 2 points
  • AGM & Kosciuszko Rally, 6 points
  • Overnight ride, 4 points
  • Multi-day ride >1 night, 6 points

Members can register for an event before and up to 24 hours after each club event, after which the event will be locked.  It is your responsibility to register for an event and Vice President may validate your attendance and resolve any disputes.

If you do not register for an event, you will not be awarded any points, even if you do or have attended an event.  This process intended to encourage member interaction with the Club, facilitate event planning and make the VP's role somewhat easier.  In case of disputes, the VP decision is final.

Upside Down Award

Awarded in good spirit to the Club Member who has the misfortune to leave their motorcycle in a spectacular if inglorious manner.

 2020 Stephen Murray Returning from the 2020 Off Centre Rally (Adels Grove / Stone Henge Qld), Stephen and F750GS parted company on the dirt near Isisford Qld.  Some side of road panel beating had the panniers reattached, Stephen in good order and bike & rider retained home to Queanbeyan.
 2019 Graeme JonesOn his way to the BMWTCNSW Far Cairn Rally @ Tottenham, Graeme pulled over into the truck bay at the top of the Brown Mountain and on to an oil slick.  You can guess the rest. Graeme rode on  to the rally.
 2018 Martin RobertsonWhilst riding home from the Off Centre Rally 0218, Martin and his K75xc parted ways 6.3km east of Finke NT in some deep sand.  Martin had a trip with the RFDS to Alice Springs and hospital before heading home whilst his K75xc took the road train to Adelaide before being reunited at home.
 2017Graeme Jones
On his way to the Far Cairn Rally and entering the Tottenham service station Graeme clipped the kerb flipping his trailer and dropping his K1100RT.  More emotional than physical damage to rider and bike.  
 2016 Bob Ellison
Whilst returning from the 2016 Off Centre Rally at Mungerannie SA Bob dropped his 2nd F800GS in Cooper Creek SA.  After an 8-week repair, the bike was written off.
 2015 Simmo Jatinnen
Whilst crossing Angle Crossing near Williamsdale ACT, Simmo drowned, writing off his week old R1200GSA.
 2014 Bob Ellison
Having taken up adventure riding Bob terminally crashed his 1st F800GS on the Bobeyan Road, near Brayshaws Hut ACT.

The BMWMCC Inc. is not responsible for the content of external sites.  Read Why or email   

© BMW Motorcycle Club Canberra Inc. (BMWMCC) 2021.  We changed names from BMW Motorcycle Club ACT.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software